WRAP AROUND CARE: NEW FOR SEPTEMBER 2023, Breakfast Club (see Our School section for further details). Coming September 2024 - AFTERSCHOOL CARE.


St Mary's Church of England Primary School and Nursery is an academy school and a member of The Partnership Trust. The structure of governance for The Partnership Trust is set out in our Governance Plan.
Ultimate responsibility for the Trust and schools within it rests with the Board of Trustees who provide strategic oversight, ensure the Trust meets it legal obligations and hold to account the Trust’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO).  The Trust’s CEO is responsible for leading the Trust’s development and growth, its policies and its school improvement strategy and is supported by an executive team. The CEO is the accounting officer for the Trust.


Some of the work of the Board of Trustees is delegated to each school’s Local Governing Body (LGB), who are sub committees of the Board of Trustees and who challenge and support the Headteacher holding them to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, monitor the implementation of the School Development Plan, ensure that the school’s money is well spent and that the school is safe and welcoming.  Full details of that delegation can be found in the Scheme of Delegation.

Further information about governance and The Partnership Trust, including The Governance Plan, Scheme of Delegation, Composition of the Board, Register of Business Interests can be found on the website: 
For further information regarding the financial management of The Partnership Trust:
Mrs Sarah Gilliam

Chair of Governors

Sarah has been on the governing board since November 2017 where she was elected as a parent governor. She became Vice Chair in September 2019 and Chair in September 2020. Sarah currently has two children at St Mary’s so enjoys being a parent at the school and also a strategic part of the school, as governor. Sarah divides her time between her governor duties, family life and graphic design work plus has a real passion for music, arts, crafts and cooking and loves to develop her knowledge whenever she can.
Sarah's areas of responsibility are: Pupil Premium, R.E. and SIAMS, Finance, Website

St Mary's C of E Primary, Old Road, Writhlington, Radstock, Somerset, BA3 3NG.

Mrs Sarah Whittaker

Vice Chair of Governors

Sarah has two children at St Mary’s and became a parent governor in May 2021. She is keen to apply her professional skills to help ensure the school environment provides the best opportunities possible for all children at St Mary’s to thrive. Sarah divides her time between family life, work as a civil servant and her governor duties. Sarah also enjoys being outdoors, which usually involves dog walks, playing hockey or working in the garden to encourage wildlife.
Sarah's areas of responsibilities are Safeguarding and Finance

Mr Michael Martin

Foundation Governor

Mike has lived most of his life around the Bath area. His initial working life saw him employed as an architectural technician, but he left there to work in the design department of a local developer, building houses and offices throughout the West Country and London, latterly becoming the MD of M P Kent Homes Ltd. In 1994 Mike ventured out on his own, becoming a Health and Safety Consultant until recent retirement. Mike is a Methodist, still involved with the NE Somerset and Bath Methodist Circuit, and the Treasurer for Trinity Methodist Church in Radstock. Additionally, Mike has long experience of working with children (of all ages), having been the Radstock Methodist Sunday School Superintendent and latterly, for Trinity, the Co-ordinator for CHRISCROSS, a family time worship and craft session planned for the last Sunday in the month. Mike has a wife Carole, two grown-up children and four wonderful grandchildren and his hobbies are railways and gardening, although with circa an acre of land, the latter takes most of his free time.
Mike's area of responsibilities are Health & Safety, R.E. and SIAMS

Anne Porter

SEND, Sports Premium

Caroline Neath

Safeguarding, Finance

Jackie Horton

Pupil Premium

Pamela Young

Health & Safety

Mrs Jo Coombe

Clerk to governors