St Mary's Church of England Primary School and Nursery is an academy school and a member of The Partnership Trust. The structure of governance for The Partnership Trust is set out in our Governance Plan.
Ultimate responsibility for the Trust and schools within it rests with the Board of Trustees who provide strategic oversight, ensure the Trust meets it legal obligations and hold to account the Trust’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO).  The Trust’s CEO is responsible for leading the Trust’s development and growth, its policies and its school improvement strategy and is supported by an executive team. The CEO is the accounting officer for the Trust.


Some of the work of the Board of Trustees is delegated to each school’s Local Governing Body (LGB), who are sub committees of the Board of Trustees and who challenge and support the Headteacher holding them to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, monitor the implementation of the School Development Plan, ensure that the school’s money is well spent and that the school is safe and welcoming.  Full details of that delegation can be found in the Scheme of Delegation.

Further information about governance and The Partnership Trust, including The Governance Plan, Scheme of Delegation, Composition of the Board, Register of Business Interests can be found on the website: 
For further information regarding the financial management of The Partnership Trust: 
Mrs Sarah Gilliam

Chair of Governors

Sarah has been on the governing board since November 2017 where she was elected as a parent governor. She became Vice Chair in September 2019 and Chair in September 2020. Sarah currently has two children at St Mary’s so enjoys being a parent at the school and also a strategic part of the school, as governor. Sarah divides her time between her governor duties, family life and graphic design work plus has a real passion for music, arts, crafts and cooking and loves to develop her knowledge whenever she can.
Sarah's areas of responsibility are: Pupil Premium, Website, Finance

Mrs Sarah Whittaker

Vice Chair of Governors

Sarah's areas of responsibilities are Finance, SEND

Mrs Frances Butt

Safeguarding Governor

Frances's areas of responsibilities are Safeguarding and Well-Being

Mr Michael Martin

Foundation Governor

Mike's area of responsibilities are Health and Safety, R.E., SIAMS

Mrs Jo Coombe

Clerk to governors